A Shadowed Livery

In the dying days of September 1938 the murderer of a Jewish shopkeeper is hanged in Birmingham. After witnessing the execution, Inspector James Given, who brought the killer to justice, is surprised to find he has been taken off the investigation into attacks on Jews to pursue a very different case. Two people have been found dead in the grounds of a Warwickshire house: it seems clear that Lady Isabel Barleigh has shot her disabled son on the eve of his wedding then turned the weapon on herself. An hour later his fiancée, distraught with grief, committed suicide. The case has been all but closed; Given doesn’t believe this version of events and, with the local policeman, Constable Sawyer, begins to dig further into the past of the Barleigh family. Meanwhile, Given’s own past – his very nature, hidden from all – begins to catch up with him. A complex mystery about identity, deceit, and past crimes. Inspired by a true story.

Buy A Shadowed Livery

A Pretty Folly

Murmurs of war are rippling through Europe, and violence against Jewish people is on the rise. Inspector James Given, himself Jewish by birth, but not in practice, is busy trying to stop attacks on Jewish businesses in Coventry. But then a murder case lands in his lap. A young girl’s body is found in the crypt of a prestigious school. Part-mummified, it is hard to discover how long she’s lain there. But why wasn’t she reported missing? Has no one been looking for her? And could more lives be at risk…?

Buy A Pretty Folly

A Patient Man

With the outcome of his previous case still haunting him, Inspector James Given is struggling to recover. Nightmares over his ex-girlfriend’s death are worrying him and he is questioning whether he will be able to continue working as a detective. On top of that, the outbreak of the Second World War is announced and Given’s Jewish family is at risk. While Given travels to Europe in search of his uncle, a complicated case arises at home in Kenilworth. Before leaving, Given had been put in charge of a seemingly straightforward suicide case. But now the police suspect the man was murdered and as Given returns home he finds himself forced to investigate the brutal killing.
Can Given make peace with his past? Will he be able to cope with the murder case?
And can he save his family from the horrors of Hitler’s regime…?

Buy A Patient Man

Wild Atlantic Words

A pocket watch frees a young girl from an unhappy vocation. Something strange frequents the dance halls of the fifties. A motorist catches a glimpse of giants on a journey through Barnesmore Gap.

In this collection you will discover tales as diverse as the rugged Donegal landscape that has shaped its people over the centuries. Seven authors* have crafted themes of emigration, love, loss, friendship, and the supernatural to reflect life hard up against the Wild Atlantic coastline.

These stories provide a unique insight into a part of Ireland where people once gathered around turf fires to indulge in their love of storytelling, a craft which lives on through MEAS Writers today.

Publisher: Bunlacky Press (ISBN: 9780993178429)

*MEAS Writers is : Darren Gallagher, Ann Garratt, Charlie Garratt, Marie Hannigan, Sally Neary, Clarrie Pringle and Malachy Sweeney.

Buy Wild Atlantic Words